Product Review: Acne.org Moisturizer with Licochalcone

After deciding to buy from Acne.org, I went straight for their Moisturizer with Licochalcone.

They offer:

  • Their “regular” 8oz. for $17.42 ($2.18/oz.)
  • A value and waste-minimizing 16oz. for $28.24 ($1.77/oz.)
  • And a 3.4oz. travel bottle for $10.78 ($3.17/oz). (This is the maximum amount of liquids the TSA allows in a single container)

I opted for the travel bottle since I hadn’t tried any of their products before.

Shipping was $2.50, bumping the total price to $13.28. I usually recalculate the price per ounce to include the price of shipping so I can keep track of the full weight of the purchase in my product spreadsheet, so this became $3.90/oz.

I ordered on January 27, my order shipped from Union City, CA on January 28, and it arrived on February 6.

IMG_5638
This is what the bottle looks like on top of a flowery pillowcase because why not

Acne.org (recently?) updated their packaging, and I really like the clean, minimalist look of it. The bottle is a satin-finish, opaque, white, so no light gets in and damages any light-sensitive ingredients (I actually don’t know if there are any in particular in this formula, but I like being reassured by stable packaging anyways).

The label is also a satin finish, and the whole thing has such a fresh look that makes me feel like I know what I’m doing as an adult trying to take care of my skin.

Even though it’s white, it doesn’t attract dirt, but even if it did, the label is water-resistant and very easy to wipe off.

IMG_5639
Hand for scale
IMG_5640
About 1/4 teaspoon on the back of my hand

It’s a pale yellow color due to the licochalcone, apparently (you can read more about licochalcone here). On my skin, I don’t notice this having any effect on my skin color whatsoever, but then again I have yellow undertones anyways. According to the reviews on the Acne.org website, a number of people have reported that this did make their skin yellower over time (is yellower a word, I think it is even though it sounds wrong). If you have lighter skin or pink undertones, this may be something to watch out for.

IMG_5641
It’s a fairly runny consistency so it drips easily

The fluid consistency feels really smoothing during application. Like many people, I’m much rougher than I should be when I’m applying lotion to my face, so I feel that this helps me avoid being overly vigorous.

IMG_5642
A closeup of the color and consistency
IMG_5643
Starting to be rubbed in
IMG_5644
This is after 25-30 seconds of rubbing in
IMG_5645
At the top of the picture, note the white streaks starting to appear

Even though it’s a runny lotion, it takes longer than expected to rub in. When you see those white streaks start to appear after about 35-40 seconds, you’ll know you’re almost finished applying.

IMG_5646
This is the finish after the one-minute mark.
IMG_5647
After application, it becomes a satin-matte finish. Ignore the grey speck of dust.

Alright, so let’s take a look at their claims:

Overly dry skin perpetuates the acne cycle. Since benzoyl peroxide is a drying and peeling agent, it is important to properly rehydrate the skin. This generously sized, intensely (1)hydrating, (2)non-comedogenic lotion eliminates dry skin and flakiness completely, while (3)soothing acne-prone skin. It goes on (4)clear and absorbs quickly, leaving no residue. It has a super-light feel and is fragrance-free and dye-free. (5)Use it liberally without fear.

  1. Like most lotions, it’s supposed to be hydrating, so that’s good I guess. It is indeed moisturizing, but given the light consistency, it’s quite a medium-to-heavy-duty moisturizer.
  2. “Non-comedogenic” is a stupid claim so we’ll ignore that for the most part. People can be allergic to anything. However, I’ve been using this for about three weeks now, and I can confidently say it does not break me out. I did a patch test for the first few days as well. It is fragrance-free, so there is that much less of a potential for irritation.
  3. I do experience the “soothing” feeling they speak of. It’s mildly cooling, but not in a minty way.
  4. It does go on clear and absorb relatively quickly once you rub it in (gently) all the way. It performs well under makeup due to the satin-matte finish, since there is no residue that balls up.
  5. You can, indeed, use it liberally without fear. For those on The Regimen or with very dry skin, they recommend using 4mL of product, which is a little over 3/4 of a teaspoon. I’ve used this amount several times and have had no problem getting it to sink in properly, but most of the time I don’t need that much.

I usually use it at night, but occasionally I will also apply some in the morning. They estimate that the bottle should last you 12-13 days using the ±4mL twice per day, but at the three week mark, I’m only about halfway through this bottle.

I also experimented with mixing in other oils (blueberry, blackberry, apricot kernel), and 1-5 total drops mixed in very well with 2-4mL. You could mix in more, but you may not need such a super rich formula. It does help the bottle last longer, so if you have any oils around (even coconut, olive, sesame, sunflower, or jojoba), that could make it even more cost effective.

Overall, I am very, very pleased with this as a facial moisturizer. I definitely feel that the price is worth it given its vegan and cruelty-free status, it’s soothing formulation for my dry and acne-prone skin, and the polished packaging that encourages me to use the product more and take care of my skin. I’m very likely to repurchase after I try out two other facial moisturizers I recently acquired. I’ll also probably be trying their AHA once I use up my current non-vegan one.

Here are a few things to consider if you’re thinking about trying Acne.org:

  • They have travel/trial sizes of each of their products (except the jojoba oil)
  • Decent shipping prices and fast processing time, though I can’t speak for their larger sizes of course.
  • It’s not guaranteed to be non-comedogenic. Always patch test.
  • It may be a more intense moisturizer than the average person needs, but I could totally see it working if a smaller amount is used.
  • The yellow color may potentially show up over time if you have pale-light skin.
  • It’s definitely pricey for a body moisturizer, but may be worth it for the soothing effect if your acne extends beyond your face.
  • Mixing in a few drops of oil can make a bottle last even longer. Just be sure to patch test the oil individually as well.

Shipping + Packaging: 1/1

Claims: 0.5/1

Formulation + Application: 1/1

Value: 1/1

Did it help my skin over time: 1/1

Rating as of 2/27/2016: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

